Posted by: The Starfish Dancer | August 20, 2016

A Long Overdue Adventure: #6

Today was a moderately less busy day, though I didn’t quite spend it lounging about reading as I’d contemplated yesterday.  Instead, I woke up and puttered about the room a little bit, making my coffee and reading in bed, before pulling on some clothes and heading to the little restaurant here for my complimentary hot breakfast. It was a buffet rather than a sit-and-order, but I did get some eggs and sausage (I’m hoping for bacon tomorrow!) and yogurt. The construction in the parking lot had started, but fortunately it was not headache-inducingly loud.

IMG_3483

Mornings lounging in a King while sipping coffee feel quite decadent.

After breakfast, I went back to my room and changed into my swimsuit so I could go for a morning dip in the pool. I was out there from about 10:30 to just before 11:30.  I didn’t get a sunburn, but I definitely started to redden in that time alone! I’ll do better at getting my sunscreen on a little while before I head outside tomorrow. It might have happened regardless – it was very hot today, at least for this poor Northern gal. It hit 30 degrees Celsius today.

After my swim, I showered and got dressed for the day, setting out for the Metropolis at Metrotown, a mall that is a short walk away from the Best Western Plus Kings Conference I’m staying at while in Burnaby.

IMG_3482

The day was HOT.

I’m guessing it is about a ten minute walk when it isn’t ridiculously hot outside, but since it was, it took me at least double that – in part because I had to stop at Starbucks for an iced coffee.  Funnily enough, I didn’t set foot in a Starbucks in Seattle, but here I tried their new cold brew with vanilla sweet cream, if I recall correctly.

Once at the mall, I did some wandering. I stopped in Eccotique to see if they had walk in massage openings – sadly, so close to a weekend, no luck. Instead, I did my part to stimulate the economy. You’re welcome, Canada. By some sort of synchronicity, I was also able to meet up with my cousin and her daughter in the mall. While this particular cousin lives in Whitehorse, she and her daughter are in Vancouver for the next 12 to 15 months while her little girl undergoes treatment at the BC Children’s Hospital (my cousin’s husband is back and forth to work back at home). She brought a friend who is also up from Whitehorse with her son for medical reasons, and we all had lunch together in the food court then did a bit of shopping.

IMG_3484

It’s unfortunately circumstances that brought my cousin here, but it was lovely to meet her little girl in person and to see K too – we last were in the same place at my brother’s wedding seven years ago!  I’m getting together with K’s sister who lives here tomorrow, then the three of us cousins are going to lounge in T’s backyard with Little G (and a bottle of Prosecco) on Sunday afternoon. After that, I finished my shopping – a few new light tank tops to get me through this hot weather, a stop in Victoria’s Secret, a gift for my cousin at Chapters, and a tonne of Lush products to make my hair (hopefully) more glorious. I failed to find what I needed at Sephora and haven’t found anything clothing-wise for my niece and nephew, but I’m not fussed about it.

IMG_3487

Vacation face!

After that, I returned to the hotel to swim and read by the pool for a while, getting a little more sun (enough that I have a slightly visible tan line). I’m reading “Uprooted” by Naomi Novik and it is fabulous.  I then went to dinner at the White Spot because I didn’t feel like Chinese food (which the restaurant in the hotel serves) after having food court Chinese food today (which is not the same, I know).

I think Robyn might have spoiled me though – the Barbecue Bigger Burger was fine, as were the fries and coleslaw, but even the flight of microbrews I tried felt lacklustre compared to what I’ve been eating. Oh well. My palate will return to it’s semi-refined self out of necessity when I return home to my own cooking.  And now I’m almost ready to snuggle back into my king-size comfy bed and call it a night!  Cheers!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

