Posted by: M.J. Bolstad | October 28, 2014

Adventures on the Other Side of the World #14

Spotted from our walk on the Harbour Bridge, these rooftop gardens look pretty cool.

Spotted from our walk on the Harbour Bridge, these rooftop gardens look pretty cool.

Well, it was another gorgeous day here in Sydney, and Alexander and I are apparently missing all the terrible weather in Melbourne. We are definitely not at all sorry that we are enjoying our time here, away from the rain and storm. Today, Alexander got up once again to photograph the sunrise, and I decidedly ignored the fact that the sun was coming up in favour of going back to sleep.  It was coffee and a cinnamon pastry this time when Alexander returned, and then we got ready, took advantage of the free breakfast at the Glenferrie (or rather, breakfast is included as part of the room rate, not entirely free), and then headed out for the day.  We didn’t take any ferries this time round, but instead walked all day.

We started by heading to the Harbour Bridge, so we could walk across to the Sydney Opera House. We debated climbing up to the upper levels, but decided against it. That is, I chickened out.  The $13 to go up I could have handled; walking up 200 stairs, on the other hand, I balked at, for this time of year at least. I’m not sure I wouldn’t collapse of heat exhaustion, fear of heights, or both.  Instead, we carried on, all the way to Circular Quay and then on to the Opera House, to check it out up close. We didn’t go in, because you need to take a guided tour to be able to do that and neither Alexander nor I was particularly inclined to do it just to go in.  A concert performance, I could see, but just a tour? The outside is what the place is famous for in any case.

Adorable baby ducks huddle up in the Royal Botanical Garden.

Adorable baby ducks huddle up in the Royal Botanical Garden.

After the Opera House, we carried on to the Royal Botanical Gardens. The Gardens are enormous, so we knew we couldn’t see everything, but we did pick up a map and decide where we wanted to go. First, we meandered our way to the main pond. There, we watched fish jump for a good while, a flash or two of pretty silver bodies propelling themselves across great distances (or so it would seem) for no reason we could fathom except to enjoy the sun, as we were. There were also some ducks at that pond, and some fluffy little ducklings. The ducks are humanized, so I could get very close to take my pictures of the wee downy things. I may even have been able to get close enough to touch, since Mama and Papa Duck seemed unconcerned with my proximity, but I didn’t want to risk putting the ducklings in danger of abandonment by making them smell of human. So I contented myself with taking their picture close (and with zoomed lens) so as not to scare them.

One of the beautiful trees that grow along the walk to and from the hotel. No editing - it grew these brilliant colours on its own!

One of the beautiful trees that grow along the walk to and from the hotel. No editing – it grew these brilliant colours on its own!

After that, Alexander and I made our way to the Garden Cafe, in part because I needed to use the washroom that is near there. Afterward, we had a glass of wine and a cupcake each, since we’re on a holiday, then we walked to the Palace Rose Garden. I smelled the beautiful flowers then read on a bench in a shaded pavilion. Alexander, on the other hand, took a nap. That’s right, he lay down on the bench to rest his eyes, and woke up about two-and-a-half chapters later.

We wended our way out of the Gardens after that, had garlic bread and shakes at a cafe where we wrote postcards, then walked the full length of the Harbour Bridge back to the BWS for a bottle of wine, then back to our hotel to cool off in the air conditioning after a long walk in the sun and 27C weather. Alexander looked it up on Google later, and as far as he can figure, we walked about 14 km before we even ventured out to find our dinner. This may be why, upon return to our hotel room, he lay down and had a second nap while I occupied myself with cooling off and levelling up on Candy Crush on Facebook.

After a day in the sun, I was more than content to have Prosecco and a seat!

After a day in the sun, I was more than content to have Prosecco and a seat!

When he woke up (or rather, I woke him up because it had been an hour and I was correct to assume he’d missed the alarm he’d set), we cracked our Prosecco and sat in the shade outside to drink our bubbles and enjoy the weather. We went to a burger place for dinner, a tiny fifties style place where there are only two tables and the rest of the seats are about 10 stools around a bar, because I was craving red meat. I had a lovely cheeseburger with great shoestring fries, and a lovely cola float (since they were out of root beer). The meal was super reasonably priced; it was about $40 with the tip for the both of us. Even without wine, that’s very good for Australia.

Now we’re back at the hotel for one more night before heading back to Melbourne via Canberra tomorrow (and probably with my turn to nap in the car tomorrow). I’d better wrap this up, because despite his naps, Alexander is pretty much ready for sleep and I’m not far behind him. Townsville is soon, and I’m so excited for my coming adventures! Magoos, I’m very much looking forward to catching up!

Leave a Reply

Categories

