Posted by: The Starfish Dancer | October 25, 2014

Adventures on the Other Side of the World #11

Sunset on St. Kilda Beach, minutes before the clouds rolled in and huge drops descended on me.

Sunset on St. Kilda Beach, minutes before the clouds rolled in and huge drops descended on me.

So I know I don’t usually take two full days off from blogging when I travel, but trust me when I say it had nothing to do with anything going wrong or whatnot; I simply did not get up to much of interest.  The first day was a travel day, and while Cairns is lovely, and airport is an airport, and when I got back to Melbourne, what I did was laundry, which isn’t exactly scintillating.  As for the next day, well I was in need of a lazy day, so I lay in bed until nearly noon, showered, booked a spa appointment for just before I went home, then walked to the spa to make sure I knew where to find it.

After that, I went back toward Alexander’s and picked up sunscreen on the way, then ate a lovely salad and veggie sandwich with a glass of rose at a fantastic little cafe near Alexander’s called the Banff. Fascintating stuff, I know.  Alexander’s boyfriend had had a tooth pulled, so he didn’t join us for dinner (we left him to rest) and we went to a little place called Lady Grange at the end of Fitzroy street, where I had a great wood fired pizza.

Watching a couple of parrots, and I managed to get a semi-decent picture of one.

Watching a couple of parrots, and I managed to get a semi-decent picture of one.

Alexander had to drop off a print so he went back to the flat to pick it and the rental up, while I opted to stay and watch the sunset and see if I could catch the penguins come in.  I did manage the sunset, which was beautiful, but then the clouds rolled in and it got a little cold. I decided to tough it out, even as the rain started to come down, but suddenly remembered I had laundry outside.  So that ended that, and instead I power walked back as fast as my ballet flats could carry me to rescue my clean clothes. They were fortunately under an outcrop, so not too damp.  But no penguins for me, at least not last night.

This morning, Alexander and I finished packing up and headed to the rental to begin our trek toward Sydney (my bag is embarrassingly large compared to Alexander’s or probably any normal human being, but I can carry it, so I can take it). We’re taking the long way there, via the coast, then will hit the ACT (Australian Capital Territory, if I recall correctly) and the shorter route on the way back.  I’m seeing a lot of this country, at least on the East Coast.  We drove through Wilson’s Promontory National Park, where we stopped for a bathroom break and a walk on one of the beaches.  The sand was beautifully warm under my feet, and so fine.  The water of the Pacific Ocean also washed almost warmly over the feet.  It was not terribly warm today (though not cold either), but I’ll bet that temperature is just perfect on a hot day.  At the beach, on the way back, I even managed to take a few snaps of some wild parrots.

Squeaking sand under my toes and the roar of an ocean... life is good.

Squeaking sand under my toes and the roar of an ocean… life is good.

After that beach, we went to a second beach, called Squeaky Beach, also in Wilsons Promontory, because it is very cool.  It is called Squeaky Beach because the sand actually makes a squeaking noise as you walk across it, especially if you get your feet a little wet.  It is quartz sand, a slightly different texture than the other sand, which I suppose is why it makes such a crunchy little squeal when you walk over it. I enjoyed stomping around that beach quite a bit.

On the way out of the park, we also pulled over because I’d spotted what another car had pulled over to photograph: real life emus in the wild. They were eating something off the grass.  Bugs, perhaps. Or even just the grass itself. I’ll be honest, I have no idea what exactly emus like to eat.  How cool is it, though, that some big birds were just hanging out, eating their food for me to quietly take photos out the window?  We chose not to get out, so as not to spook them. Our hybrid is very helpful for that, as well; it is much easier to quietly glide up as close as you can than it would be to rev an engine.

Why did the emu cross the road?  To get to the other side, of course.

Why did the emu cross the road? To get to the other side, of course.

We spent a long time on the road after that, all winding trees and a few towns. We stopped for an early dinner at a small Asian place, where the owner couldn’t make us lemon chicken because she ran out of fresh lemons and makes the sauce herself with them, so she made us sweet and sour chicken instead. There were lots of veggies, and it was delicious.  If I recall correctly, the place is called Le Cafe de Yum, and the owner/chef and the man I suspect is her husband/waiter were lovely.  After that, more driving until we hit Mallacoota, where we are staying the night in the Blue Wren motel. It’s lovely and quaint (the internet shuts down at ten o’clock) and the woman at reception was very nice with directions and welcoming, though we’re not staying long. We are going to get up painfully early tomorrow to catch the sunrise on the beach, so I’ll be signing off right away to catch some zeds first.  Tomorrow, more coast to Sydney!

Leave a Reply

Categories

