Posted by: The Starfish Dancer | October 13, 2014

Adventures on the Other Side of the World #3

One last stop at the Twelve Apostles before heading back to Melbourne.

One last stop at the Twelve Apostles before heading back to Melbourne.

Well, I’m back in Melbourne for the night, after another day along the Great Ocean Road. The weather was stormy today, so no sunrise at the Twelve Apostles for this time. Instead, we took our time getting up and getting packed up, then went to the Alcove Cafe for breakfast.  It’s still early spring, so not everything is open in the small coastal towns. Good thing the food is delicious there; I’m pretty sure nowhere else was open!  I had French toast with fried bananas and syrup, and yet another wonderful cappuccino.

After that, we hit the road, on the way back to Melbourne.  It was rainy and very windy, so while we stopped at Gibsons Steps but didn’t go down.  I’m not sure we’d have been able to fight the wind back up if we’d gone down to the beach.  I did take a few photos, and then we went back on the road.

If the weather had been more cooperative, I think this would have been an excellent place to do a little more exploring.

If the weather had been more cooperative, I think this would have been an excellent place to do a little more exploring.

We stopped at a place called Cape Otway, where there is a lovely little lighthouse. We climbed up the spiral stairs inside to nearly the top (as far as you are allowed to go) and looked out over the ocean for as long as we could stand.  It was very, very windy, enough that we were advised to watch hats and sunglasses lest they blow away, so needless to say, our visit was short.

On the way out of the lighthouse turnoff and back to the Great Ocean Road, Alexander noticed a bunch of cars stopped, so found a place to pull over.  He suspected they’d spotted a koala, and sure enough, he was absolutely right!  There, eating away at the eucalyptus tree, was an adorable koala. And, on the other side of the road, yet another. Two koalas, in the wild and not a zoo.  I kind of want to take one home.

We wandered back to the car and sang along loudly to our playlists while we made our way back up the Great Ocean Road. We stopped for lunch in a little seaside town called Anglesea.  That is not a typo – as best I know, they meant to call it after an angle and not an angel. We ate fish and chips at a place called Sea Eyes, then found an ice cream place for dessert. I had a honey comb scoop and a macadamia nut scoop.  It was wonderful.

Koalas finally sighted! Now where are those sneaky platypuses?

Koalas finally sighted! Now where are those sneaky platypuses?

After that, I fell asleep on the drive back to Melbourne, soothed by the winding road and the quiet hum of the hybrid car.  I don’t think I was out for longer than a half hour, but it was a nice rest.  Once back in Melbourne, Alexander and I unloaded our gear, then dropped the rental car back and rode the tram back home.  Alexander is super awesome and already had a loaded tram card (or Myki, as it is called here) so I can go out tomorrow at my leisure.

For dinner, we’d thought to barbecue, but the weather didn’t cooperate. Instead, Alexander cooked a fantastic and fancy feta and spinach stuffed chicken with asparagus and root vegetables on the side. A meal worthy of a restaurant!  Then he, his boyfriend (who joined us for dinner) and I watched a movie and chilled.  I’m glad for the breather – I’m all for adventures, but need to squeeze in a few breaks too! I’ve booked a few more tours and flights for later in the week, but for tomorrow I’m going to play it by ear. Beyond making sure I get coffee, I am not sure what I’ll find myself doing.  I will try not to be boring and stay in bed all day… at least not QUITE yet. But no promises!  I am, after all on holiday, and sometimes what one needs on a holiday is to just kick back and relax.

The waves were high in the wind today!

The waves were high in the wind today!

Leave a Reply

Categories

