Posted by: The Starfish Dancer | November 15, 2013

Girls Just Wanna Have Fun: Day # 7

The light is more beautiful than words can describe, though I did try.

The light is more beautiful than words can describe.

I hardly know where to start this entry. We had such a great day yesterday. The kind of day that makes me wonder why I don’t live here in British Columbia, close to the ocean. Where I can drink my coffee to the sound of the rain on the roof, breathe in the salt air, and feel totally at peace with the world.

After our morning coffee and a bit of breakfast, we made our way out to walk the lighthouse trail. It is not a difficult walk, despite being steep at times. It is just under three kilometres in distance, and we took it at an easy pace because the scenery is so beautiful. Of course, BFF had more of a workout than I did, pushing 22 pounds of baby in a stroller on a gravel path.

Now this is love locked down!

Now this is love locked down!

We made our way up to the coast, past Wedding Point, where many couples exchange vows (marked by padlocks painted and engraved with the couples’ names and clipped to the fence for eternity), and to the lighthouse, and took some pictures there. And then we got an awesome bonus: a little ways in the distance, some whales were spotted diving down. I missed the first one. Some other walkers pointed them out, and they dove before I’d had time to turn around, although BFF spotted the fluke.

We made our way up to the coast, past Wedding Point, where many couples exchange vows (marked by padlocks painted and engraved with the couples’ names and clipped to the fence for eternity), and to the lighthouse, and took some pictures there. And then we got an awesome bonus: a little ways in the distance, some whales were spotted diving down. I missed the first one. Some other walkers pointed them out, and they dove before I’d had time to turn around, although BFF spotted the fluke.

If you look closely, you can just see where the whales are spouting water.

If you look closely, you can just see where the whales are spouting water.

They can dive for quite some time, but I asked if we could stay a little while. To my great delight, less than 10 minutes later they were spouting in the distance, and I even caught them dive down, waving their tails at me, although BFF missed this dive as she had just strapped Little Miss P. back into her stroller.

We walked back to our resort, rushing the last bit a little since we’d lingered quite a bit and Miss P. was getting hungry. We did stop to take a few pictures, including at this very neat faery gate (a tree that both exits and enters the ground, forming a path into Faerie), then at the cove our resort overlooks.  Then we made our way back to our little loft (called High Tide, which I’m pretty sure I neglected to mention before) and ate our lunch.

P1050639

I think my soul belongs here, on this beach in Tofino.

After lunch, we packed up the car and made our way back toward Tofino. I really wanted to go to Chesterman’s beach, which the Long Beach Lodge Resort (an awesome place I’ve stayed at twice before, and which isn’t on Long Beach despite its name) is situated.  We were pleasantly surprised to find out this beach is a public beach, and even though there are two resorts (Long Beach and Cox Bay) on this particular bit of shore, it was totally free to access.  It is also one of my absolute favourite places in the entire world.

By the way, did I mention yesterday was gloriously gorgeous? The sun was shining and the air was fairly warm (how will we ever go home now?), warm enough in fact that BFF and I kicked off our shoes and wandered barefoot through the surf.  The sand and sea were cold after a while, but totally worth chilled toes.

How I love my starfis

How I love my starfish!

BFF was successful in her quest to find sand dollars (currently soaking in a pot of water scooped from the jacuzzi to kill any germs and bugs) and I found my starfish in the wild.  I stepped into cold tidal pools to touch and take pictures. I even got to touch some sea anemone, watch them close against my fingers. They feel odd, like sticky rubber.

After a lot of time spent on the beach (including a snack for Miss P.), we walked back to the car.  The sun wasn’t quite setting, but it cast a beautiful glow over the beach.  We finally dried our feet off in towels kindly provided by our resort for beach use  (and dog washing – they’d even drawn cute pictures of dogs on them!) and cranked the heat on the floor of the car for the drive home. The Pacific Rim National Reserve is especially beautiful as the sun sets.  I’ll confess we also plugged in my iPod and listened to the Lord of the Rings soundtrack, which totally enhances the backdrop of majestic trees.  I highly recommend  driving through the forest to it.

P1050602

This is what my face looks like when I get to walk barefoot in the sand in November. So happy.

Once home, I entertained Miss P. while BFF took the dinner preparations on. BFF is a fantastic cook, so we had pasta sauce made with mushrooms, onion, and bacon, mixed with angel hair pasta and sprinkled with parmesan, and salad with cheese and carrots and balsamic dressing like we used to eat when we lived in Edinburgh while I was a student and BFF came with for the adventure.

After dinner, we vegged a little before BFF started the bedtime routine with Miss P. and I did the dishes.  Our house rules were always that whoever makes dinner shouldn’t have to clean up too, and it works for us.

I've gone a little overboard on the pictures this time, but I couldn't resist.  This is Little Beach, a five minute walk from the resort.  The sun was setting just as we drove by, so we stopped for a picture.

I’ve gone a little overboard on the pictures this time, but I couldn’t resist. This is Little Beach, a five minute walk from the resort. The sun was setting just as we drove by, so we stopped for a picture.

Once Miss P was in bed (and I’d finished a few more chocolates while I waited), I poured the last of my red wine into a plastic cup and we jumped in the hot tub again. The temperature had dropped outside quite quickly, so it was nice to soak in the hot water.  When we got out, I dress and took myself for a short walk down by the beach. I took tea lights and found a neat nook with a flat tree stump where I lit my candles and listened to the ocean for a bit.  I didn’t spend too long out there because it was really dark and I was tired.

On the way back, I decided to go to the parking lot with my flashlight to see if I could find a wayward soother.  And what should I encounter but a couple of deer, eating the grass between the parking lot and the stairs I needed to climb to get back to the loft. Most of you will probably find this charming, but I am actually very afraid of deer for some irrational reason.  But I expect most of people in the world don’t find deer creepy and evil, you might enjoy knowing that you can get pretty close to Bambi here at Terrace Beach Resort.

Once I’d sucked up the courage to bolt to the stairs (at least one of the deer had kindly moved away), I crawled into my pyjamas and to bed, my heart going a mile a minute.  Another day was over, with plenty of excitement to spare!

Leave a Reply

Categories

