Posted by: The Starfish Dancer | November 12, 2013

Girls Just Wanna Have Fun: Day #4

A garden of statues, near the market.I’m starting the morning with my coffee in my pull out bed, in my home for the next four nights, the Terrace Beach Resort in Ucluelet, BC.  Little Miss P. is having her breakfast with BFF, and I’m waiting for the coffee to kick in so I can begin to think about eating.

Yesterday, I woke up and had coffee with my aunt, then when my uncle and cousin were awake (and the dog had been walked), we had a nice breakfast together. My aunt sent me home with homemade peach jam: one for me, one for my parents, and one for my brother and his family.  I’m declaring that here so I’ll have to deliver them, despite my temptation to keep all three.

Goats on the Roof, minus the goats.

Goats on the Roof, minus the goats.

At about 10:30, BFF swung by with the car, and after many hugs and a few tears, we loaded my (now heavier thanks to Costco) suitcases in the trunk and hit the road.  Little Miss P. is teething, which makes for a quieter ride when the Tylenol has kicked in, and less so when the Tylenol wears off.  In any case, she was pretty mellow for the first leg of the journey, to Coombs.

Coombs is famous for their market, Goats on a Roof. The goats, apparently, hang out and eat the grass roof of this building. Sadly, it was just a roof; I’m not sure where the goats were today. Perhaps we’ll find them on the way back.  The market and little shops were still fun to check out.

After delicious fish and chips neither of us could finish (despite help from Miss P., even!), so bountiful were the portions, we hit the road with our market purchases.  The scenery was beautiful as we drove on through the Pacific Rim National Park toward Ucluelet.  Sadly, travelling with a baby means didn’t really have the opportunity to pull over and take pictures, but it is engrained in my memory.  I love the BC coast.  It has a magical quality. I always feel like my soul is at home here, even though I’m Northern born and bred.

Here's a taste of the local wildlife we saw in Coombs.

Here’s a taste of the local wildlife we saw in Coombs.

The road is very windy from Port Alberni to Ucluelet. We ended up pulling over to switch drivers when Miss P. got hungry, and I had to take the most twisted road I’d driven. Even though it is just about 100 km of road, it takes nearly two hours to drive, because it wends to and fro, up and down, and many of the corners are tight.  I was pretty tense: I’m a decent driver, but in an unfamiliar vehicle with cars behind me that sometimes road my taillights a little more closely than I’d have liked.

Still, I equipped myself well, and we made it to our beautiful loft at the Terrace Beach Resort. After checking in and unloading, we made Miss P. go back in her carseat for a trip to get groceries and wine. Thankfully the stores aren’t too far, as she was not a happy little girl.

When we got back, we checked out the place a bit more.  I’ll post pictures tomorrow, when I can take some in the light, but we have a little electric fireplace, comfy couches, plenty of room and, best of all for the grownups, a big private jacuzzi on the deck.  After Miss P. had her dinner and gone to bed, BFF and I had a light dinner of carrots and hummus, and brie cheese and the fresh bread we’d picked up at the Goats on the Roof market.  The garlic cheese bread was good, but the dark rye we’d picked up stole the show.  Fresh bread is amazing. I’ll probably have some for breakfast today. After dinner, I poured myself a glass of wine and San Pellegrino for BFF (she and her husband don’t drink, which makes for easy designated drivers!) and it was a long soak in the hot tub with the jets before we crashed for dinner. You can expect we’ll do a lot more of that regardless of what adventures we decide to take today!

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

