Posted by: The Starfish Dancer | September 18, 2012

Ode to a Grecian Turn: Day Four

Well, another day has come and gone, and so have I.  I am no longer writing from Athens, but instead from the writer’s retreat, Limnisa (which was apparently my mom’s idea, not my dad’s, but thanks to both!).  Limnisa is around Agios Georgios, or St. George as it would be known in English.

A view from the ferry at Piraeus Port.

My day started with another lovely breakfast of cereal and toast and fresh squeezed orange juice, courtesy of Janet and Aris. They had booked me a cab, so I made sure to pack up my things so I was ready to go when the driver, Paul (pronounced “Pol”) arrived.  I discovered a little late that I’d got the time for the ferry wrong and was ahead by an hour, but better late than early.  The drive from St. Thomas Bed and Breakfast to Port of Piraeus was quite long, and cost 40 Euro, with the tip.  I got a whole bunch farther in Athens than I did in Toronto by cab, and I felt better about making my ferry on time, so it was money well, well spent.

I purchased my ticket and then sat in a cafeteria drinking a Fredoccino (iced mocha, essentially) and sipping water for two hours, reading and waiting for the ferry.  I had a little trouble finding mine when the time rolled around, since it had not yet pulled into port and the gates are well marked for foot traffic, but someone kindly pointed me in the right direction.  (I looked lost, which shouldn’t be a surprise, since I was totally lost.)

A quiet corner of paradise!

The ferry ride from the Port of Piraeus  took about two hours, and it wasn’t too full so I didn’t have to feel bad about taking up two seats with all my gear.  In fact, the decks were fairly empty. I read most of the way to Limnisa, though I did look up in time to catch some porpoises or dolphins sailing through the air in the distance. Not close enough for photos, but it was definitely awesome to see and a good omen, I believe, according to old sailor’s tales.  At the shore, Mariel, one of Limnisa’s proprietor’s, found me fairly easily, so I got to drop my bags into the car and head to Agios Georgios, about a fifteen minutes drive.

Limnisa is absolutely beautiful.  It is very quiet, and there is no wifi (so I’m going to post this the next time I’m at an internet cafe), which should be good for the writing aspect, since I’m very, very good at distracting myself.  Fewer distractions should hopefully mean more discipline.

Sunset at Limnisa

After choosing which room I would stay in (I chose the ground floor because I think it might be a bit cooler), I unpacked, went over some guidelines for the time here, and then basically just chilled for a little while since there was a little time before dinner.  In Greece, it seems, supper is held quite late, at about 8 o’clock.  I had a little lie down since I’m still adjusting to the heat, took some pictures of the gorgeous sea and the stunning sunset.  I will go to sleep in a room that overlooks the sea and where I can hear the sound of the waves hitting the shore, and that is blue glass themed so reminds me a little of my mom.  Dinner with the other guests was not only delicious, but quite stimulating in terms of conversation.  All the meals are vegetarian, and today was super delicious, some rice, some stir fried veggies, and a savory sort of patty made of lentils.  I had two helpings, and I don’t know if I am just hitting the end of the jet lag, or whether the lack of stress now that I’m at my destination meant my appetite came back.  Either way, I’m very comfortable and even failed to be scared of the spider that is in my room.  I think this will be very good for me, and hopefully I will be able to cultivate some discipline.  In the meantime, I’m going to cultivate a little rest and hit the sack for tonight.  I can’t wait for tomorrow’s adventures. Hopefully good writing will abound, and I’ll remember to make time for snorkelling!

Leave a Reply

Categories

