Posted by: The Starfish Dancer | August 14, 2011

There’s No Place Like Home: Playing Tourist in My Own Town # 4

Well, my guests have gone home, and it is just me at my parents’ place (I’m house- and dog-sitting for the weekend while they attend a wedding).  It’s a bit rainy today, and it rained yesterday, so I’m thinking J and B are happy to be home, where I hear the weather is about 28C.

We did make it out to breakfast at the Gold Range Bistro, when the bug was once again really good, even though he does get bit fussy when his naptime nears (and it nears not long after he gets to eat, so for 45 minutes to an hour every three hours!). No screaming though.  I held him up to the point where the food is delivered, then passed him to his Nana, who is old hand at eating while entertaining a baby.  I’m pretty sure I’d end up dropping a hashbrown on his head.

We had a bit more quiet time at home after breakfast, then headed home to pack up the truck, which accommodates all the baby travel gear much better than does the car.  Then off to the airport to see everyone off.

I couldn't resist posing the Bug with a stuffed wolf at the Gallery of the Midnight Sun.

It was an educational trip in a way for me, not so much about Yellowknife (since I’ve live here since I was 13 years old) but about traveling with wee ones.  Yellowknife is a town that is fantastic for the outdoorsy, and even though I am nowhere near the outdoorsy type (I hate sleeping on the ground and I am very fond of indoor plumbing, easy access to lattes, etc) it was interesting to realise how many of the things I like to do with guests here are outdoor-type things, like kayaking, boating, fishing, swimming in the lake, hiking Cameron Falls, and taking long, leisurely walks through the town.  It was also a little eye opening to see how many things are difficult or unadvisable to do with a baby.  We saw a lot of Yellowknife in the four days my guests were here, but I think it was a very different look at Yellowknife than it might have been with a baby-free friend.

Now, I love the bug (my honorary nephew!) to bits and he is an incredibly good baby (hardly ever cried, no real screaming, happy baby, good on the plane – J really lucked out on most counts!), but the trip really underscored some of what I’ve known for a while.  Babies are a lot, and I mean a lot, of work.  They have pretty specific schedules and are very time consuming.  There is no room for selfishness with a baby.  For a long while I’ve been pretty sure that I am not likely to ever have kids.  I like a good deal of “down time” and I’m pretty attached to my freedom. I’m not saying I’ll never have kids (I reserve the ability to change my mind at any time about just about anything) but if I do, it’s definitely not going to be for a long time. There’s a lot I want to do and see, and having a baby wouldn’t mean I couldn’t, but it would mean I’d definitely have to do it differently.  So for now, I’m content to be an honorary aunt (an maybe one day an aunt outright, if my brother and his wife decide to have kids), to spoil the bug and give him back when he gets cranky or smelly.  It’s the best of all the worlds.

Leave a Reply

Categories

